Blog RSS http://www.npg.org.uk/blog/rss.php en National Portrait Gallery 2006 120 Behind the Scenes of the <i>BP Portrait Award</i> Family Trail http://www.npg.org.uk/blog/behind-the-scenes-of-the-bp-portrait-award-family-trail.php Wed, 16 Jul 2014 10:51:38 +0100 http://www.npg.org.uk/blog/behind-the-scenes-of-the-bp-portrait-award-family-trail.php Jenni Desmond new_activities Making a Design for Virginia Woolf http://www.npg.org.uk/blog/making-a-design-for-virginia-woolf.php Fri, 11 Jul 2014 10:15:23 +0100 http://www.npg.org.uk/blog/making-a-design-for-virginia-woolf.php Calum Storrie new_activities We Looked Around We Saw Ourselves http://www.npg.org.uk/blog/we-looked-around-we-saw-ourselves.php Mon, 30 Jun 2014 11:23:29 +0100 http://www.npg.org.uk/blog/we-looked-around-we-saw-ourselves.php Eelyn Lee new_activities Picture the Poet kicks off in Norwich http://www.npg.org.uk/blog/picture-the-poet-kicks-off-in-norwich.php Wed, 11 Jun 2014 09:51:55 +0100 http://www.npg.org.uk/blog/picture-the-poet-kicks-off-in-norwich.php Erin Barnes new_activities Pictured & Seen at the Gallery’s regional partner, Montacute House http://www.npg.org.uk/blog/pictured-seen-at-the-gallerys-regional-partner.php Mon, 02 Jun 2014 12:36:13 +0100 http://www.npg.org.uk/blog/pictured-seen-at-the-gallerys-regional-partner.php Jane Eade 19th_century new_activities Winston Churchill: Wanted Dead or Alive! http://www.npg.org.uk/blog/winston-churchill-wanted-dead-or-alive.php Thu, 08 May 2014 09:41:46 +0100 http://www.npg.org.uk/blog/winston-churchill-wanted-dead-or-alive.php Emily Burns 19th_century new_activities In Conversation? More and Cromwell Face to Face http://www.npg.org.uk/blog/in-conversation-more-and-cromwell-face-to-face.php Fri, 02 May 2014 10:45:03 +0100 http://www.npg.org.uk/blog/in-conversation-more-and-cromwell-face-to-face.php Charlotte Bolland exhibitions new_activities painting tudor_and_elizabethan Challenging stereotypes? Nineteenth-century portraits of blind people http://www.npg.org.uk/blog/challenging-stereotypes-nineteenth-century-portraits-of-blind-people.php Wed, 02 Apr 2014 10:10:46 +0100 http://www.npg.org.uk/blog/challenging-stereotypes-nineteenth-century-portraits-of-blind-people.php Dr Heather Tilley 19th_century exhibitions new_activities People, not numbers: Curating The Great War in Portraits http://www.npg.org.uk/blog/people-not-numbers-curating-the-great-war-in-portraits.php Wed, 26 Mar 2014 11:53:20 +0000 http://www.npg.org.uk/blog/people-not-numbers-curating-the-great-war-in-portraits.php Paul Moorhouse 20th_century exhibitions new_activities Hanging Contemporary Art at Beningbrough Hall http://www.npg.org.uk/blog/hanging-contemporary-art-at-beningbrough-hall.php Fri, 07 Mar 2014 15:45:50 +0000 http://www.npg.org.uk/blog/hanging-contemporary-art-at-beningbrough-hall.php Rab MacGibbon, Associate Curator and Clare Fletcher, Visitor Experience and Volunteering Manager at Beningbrough Hall 20th_century contemporary The Prince’s Drawing Club meets Van Dyck http://www.npg.org.uk/blog/the-princes-drawing-club-meets-van-dyck.php Tue, 18 Feb 2014 09:17:25 +0000 http://www.npg.org.uk/blog/the-princes-drawing-club-meets-van-dyck.php Denise Vogelsang activities Young People’s Programme http://www.npg.org.uk/blog/young-peoples-programme.php Wed, 22 Jan 2014 12:19:36 +0000 http://www.npg.org.uk/blog/young-peoples-programme.php Youth Forum activities photography Vivien Leigh: A Star in Wartime http://www.npg.org.uk/blog/vivien-leigh-a-star-in-wartime.php LOOK magazine from 17 December 1940. Earl Theisen’s striking cover photograph of Leigh posing stoically against a loud red, white, and blue background whilst knitting for Bundles for Britain highlights one of several interesting ways the actress used her fame to contribute to the British war effort. ]]> Wed, 08 Jan 2014 12:51:32 +0000 http://www.npg.org.uk/blog/vivien-leigh-a-star-in-wartime.php Kendra Bean 20th_century exhibitions George Frederic Watts, a Victorian International Artist http://www.npg.org.uk/blog/george-frederic-watts-a-victorian-international-artist.php Thu, 05 Dec 2013 14:09:08 +0000 http://www.npg.org.uk/blog/george-frederic-watts-a-victorian-international-artist.php Ruth Benny exhibitions victorian_and_edwardian Restoration of the sculpture of Piero Capponi http://www.npg.org.uk/blog/restoration-of-the-sculpture-of-piero-capponi.php Fri, 22 Nov 2013 10:05:49 +0000 http://www.npg.org.uk/blog/restoration-of-the-sculpture-of-piero-capponi.php Jane Eade conservation exhibitions The Judges' View: Taylor Wessing Photographic Portrait Prize 2013 http://www.npg.org.uk/blog/the-judges-view-taylor-wessing-photographic-portrait.php Wed, 13 Nov 2013 14:41:45 +0000 http://www.npg.org.uk/blog/the-judges-view-taylor-wessing-photographic-portrait.php Rebecca Valentine and Suki Dhanda contemporary exhibitions photography Should We Remember The Fifth Of November? http://www.npg.org.uk/blog/should-we-remember-the-fifth-of-november.php Thu, 24 Oct 2013 16:02:27 +0100 http://www.npg.org.uk/blog/should-we-remember-the-fifth-of-november.php Rab MacGibbon exhibitions tudor_and_elizabethan You Can Be a Literary Patron – For Free http://www.npg.org.uk/blog/you-can-be-a-literary-patron-for-free.php Tue, 22 Oct 2013 10:30:25 +0100 http://www.npg.org.uk/blog/you-can-be-a-literary-patron-for-free.php David Varela exhibitions tudor_and_elizabethan Elizabeth I installation http://www.npg.org.uk/blog/elizabeth-i-installation.php Tue, 08 Oct 2013 11:54:25 +0100 http://www.npg.org.uk/blog/elizabeth-i-installation.php Tarnya Cooper exhibitions tudor_and_elizabethan Discovering Diallo with Ben Okri http://www.npg.org.uk/blog/discovering-diallo-with-ben-okri.php Wed, 02 Oct 2013 11:03:52 +0100 http://www.npg.org.uk/blog/discovering-diallo-with-ben-okri.php Lucy Peltz 18th_century exhibitions painting