Search the Collections

Mary, Duchess of Beaufort (1630-1715), Wife of 1st Duke of Beaufort

Sitter in 2 portraits
Mary Capel married Henry Somerset in 1657; he was created the Duke of Beaufort in 1682. In around 1660, Somerset inherited the Badminton estate and embarked on a major building project there. Mary focused her attention on the gardens and by 1678 had started a new fashion by installing conservatories. She also built almshouses and Badminton School. In 1681, the Somersets bought a home in Chelsea, which they remodelled, and Mary once again redesigned the gardens.

ListThumbnail