Search the Collection

David Lloyd George, 1st Earl Lloyd-George (1863-1945), Prime Minister

Sitter associated with 125 portraits
Lloyd George was elected Liberal MP for Carnarvon Boroughs in 1890, a seat he held for fifty-five years. Lloyd George became Chancellor of the Exchequer in 1908. In 1909 he introduced old-age pensions and, in 1911, the National Insurance Act, a scheme against ill-health and unemployment. He backed the war in defence of Belgium in 1914 and in 1916 became prime minister. He is remembered as one of Britain's greatest wartime leaders. He remained Prime Minister in a coalition government until 1922. A celebrated orator, in 1940 his devastating attack on Prime Minister Neville Chamberlain, made in his last speech in the House of Commons, helped bring about the succession of Winston Churchill.