Artist associated with 197 portraits
Walery was the byline adopted by two photographers, a father and son, who used it as their working name. The elder, Count Stanislaw Julian Ostrorog (1830-90) was born in Lithuania. After a spell in the Turkish Army, he moved to London around 1857, becoming a British citizen in 1862. He first set up a photographic studio in Marseilles and then in Paris, which he sold in 1878, before opening a studio in London on Conduit Street and later on Regent Street. On his death in 1890, his son Stanislaw Julian Ignacy, Count Ostrorog (1863-1935) continued the business. Between 1890 and 1900, he partnered with photographer Alfred Ellis to become Ellis and Walery. In 1900 he moved to Paris and opened a studio there.
by Walery, printed and published by Goupil & Co
photogravure, published January 1889 (1876)
albumen cabinet card, 1887
Exhibitions and displays
- Setting the Scene: Staging and Backdrops in Studio Photographs
Until 4 December