Search the Collections

Charlotte Rampling (1946-), Actress

(Tessa) Charlotte Rampling

Sitter in 23 portraits
Rampling's breakthrough role was in Georgy Girl (1966) and she is known for her bold characterisations in over eighty film and television roles. Notable early films include The Damned (1969), Farewell, My Lovely (1975), On Ne Meurt Que Deux Fois (1985) and Angel Heart (1987). In 1997 she starred in The Wings of the Dove and was nominated for an Oscar in François Ozon's Under the Sand (2000). She won the Best Actress award from the European Film Academy for Swimming Pool (2003). Rampling appeared in the 2010 adaptation of Kazuo Ishiguro's novel Never Let Me Go and in Melancholia directed by Lars von Trier (2011).

List Thumbnail


Charlotte Rampling

by Véronique Rolland
digital C-type colour print, 2001
NPG x126832


(Tessa) Charlotte Rampling

by Lord Snowdon
gelatin silver print, 12 March 1976
NPG P1911


Charlotte Rampling

by Helmut Newton
bromide print, 19 October 1973
NPG x32395