Search the Collection

Siegmund Nissel (1923-2008), Violinist; member of the Amadeus Quartet

Sitter in 2 portraits
In 1947, Lovett, Brainin, Nissel and Schidlof formed the celebrated Amadeus Quartet. They played together for forty years until the death of Schidlof in 1987 when the remaining members decided to disband. The first residential string quartet in Britain at the University of York in the 1960s, they travelled the world, gathering honours and prestige on every continent.

List Thumbnail


Amadeus Quartet

by Georges Maiteny
bromide print, 1950s
NPG x36171