Search the Collections

William Gifford (1756-1826), First editor of the Quarterly Review

Sitter in 3 portraits
William Gifford was a satirical poet and classical scholar. As a young man Gifford became known to Lord Grosvenor, who became his patron. He produced several satirical poems including The Baviad (1794) and The Maeviad (1795), which established his reputation as a keen, even ferocious critic. In 1797 Gifford was appointed editor of the weekly journal The Anti-Jacobin, started by George Canning. He then became the first editor of the Tory Quarterly Review, a post that he held from 1809 until 1824.

List Thumbnail

1017

William Gifford

replica by John Hoppner
oil on canvas, circa 1800
NPG 1017

D13690

William Gifford

by Henry Meyer, after John Hoppner
stipple engraving, published 1818
NPG D13690

D13980

William Gifford

by William Ridley, published by Vernor & Hood, after John Hoppner
stipple engraving, published 30 September 1802
NPG D13980