Search the Collection

Gavin Bryars (1943-), Composer and contrabass player

Sitter in 2 portraits
Composer; from a background in philosophy, jazz and the visual arts, emerged as a leading and subversive experimentalist with The Sinking of the Titanic (1969); subsequent works include Medea (1984) and the opera, Dr Ox's Experiment (ENO, 1997).

List Thumbnail


Gavin Bryars

by Nick White
photo collage, 1996
NPG P695


Julian Lloyd Webber; Gavin Bryars

by Nick White
toned print, 1996
NPG x87023