Search the Collection

A.S. Byatt (1936-), Novelist, critic and editor

Dame Antonia Susan ('A.S.') Byatt

Sitter in 8 portraits
Internationally renowned for her novels and short-stories, Byatt is also a critic and essayist, writing on art and literary history and philosophy. Her novels include The Virgin in the Garden (1978) the first in the Frederica quartet, the Booker Prize-winning Possession (1990), five collections of short stories:Sugar and other Stories (1987), The Matisse Stories (1994), The Djinn in the Nightingale's Eye (1995), Elementals (1998), and Little Black Book of Stories (2003), The Biographer's Tale (2000) and Ragnarok: The End of the Gods (2011). Byatt was appointed Dame in 1999.

List Thumbnail


A.S. Byatt

by Patrick Heron
charcoal, 1995
NPG 6414a


A.S. Byatt (Portrait of A S Byatt : Red, Yellow, Green and Blue : 24 September 1997)

by Patrick Heron
oil on canvas, 1997
On display in Room 32 at the National Portrait Gallery
NPG 6414


A.S. Byatt

by Fay Godwin
bromide print, circa 1971
NPG x12944


A.S. Byatt

by Mark Gerson
modern bromide print, June 1992
NPG x88206


A.S. Byatt; Patrick Heron

by Charles Robert Saumarez Smith
resin print, circa 1995
NPG x87732


A.S. Byatt

by Norman McBeath
bromide fibre print, 29 October 1997
NPG x126410


Dame Antonia Susan ('A.S.') Byatt

by Eamonn McCabe
archival inkjet print, 2009
NPG x199148


A.S. Byatt

by Tara Heinemann
bromide fibre print, 1986
NPG x30984