Alexander Bassano (1829-1913), Photographer
Sitter associated with 4 portraits
Artist associated with 2736 portraits
Alexander Bassano opened his first studio in 1850 on Regent Street, London. In 1876 he moved to Old Bond Street, where the firm was located until 1921. The studio was large enough to accommodate an eighty-foot panoramic background scene mounted on rollers, which provided a variety of outdoor scenes or court backgrounds. Bassano retired from work at the studio in around 1903, when the premises were extensively refurbished and relaunched as Bassano Ltd, Royal Photographers. The firm was subsequently resold on many occasions but retained the Bassano name and the studio's collection of negatives.
Exhibitions and displays
- Facing Blindness: Visual Impairment in the Nineteenth Century
Until 13 July 2014