Search the Collection

Mark-Anthony Turnage (1960-), Composer

Sitter in 2 portraits
Studied at the Royal College of Music under Oliver Knussen. Composer in association at the ENO (1995-2000), and the BBC Symphony Orchestra since 2000. Turnage draws on a wide range of sources including jazz and blues. His first opera Greek premiered at the Munich Biennale in 1988 to great acclaim. Acclaimed compositions include Night Dances (1981), On All Fours (1986), Three Screaming Popes (1989), inspired by the paintings of Francis Bacon, Blood on the Floor (1994) and The Silver Tassie (2000), for which he won the Olivier award for outstanding achievement in the opera.

List Thumbnail


Mark-Anthony Turnage

by George Newson
bromide print, 9 July 1992
NPG x76892


Mark-Anthony Turnage

by Derry Moore, 12th Earl of Drogheda
bromide fibre print, 2004
NPG x126980