Search the Collection

431 Portraits in set: Bassano 1927

The Gallery holds over 40,000 negatives taken by the Bassano studio between the 1870s and 1950s. The firm was founded by Alexander Bassano in 1850 in Regent Street, London. The studio moved three times later to Old Bond Street in 1876, Dover Street in 1920 and then to Pimlico in 1974, where it still operates. The firm donated the bulk of the gallery's collection in 1974 when it made its last move to Pimlico. In 1996 two further selection of negatives were acquired, namely much of the work taken by Alexander Bassano himself from the 1870s to the early 1900s and a further 5,000 negatives of mainly theatrical subjects (from 1903-1939) which were presented by John Culme.

ListThumbnail