Opening of the Lord Duveen Annexe to the National Portrait Gallery

1 portrait of King George V

Opening of the Lord Duveen Annexe to the National Portrait Gallery, by Sir John Lavery, 1933 - NPG 5943 - © National Portrait Gallery, London

© National Portrait Gallery, London

Opening of the Lord Duveen Annexe to the National Portrait Gallery

by Sir John Lavery
oil on board, 1933
20 in. x 24 in. (508 mm x 610 mm)
Bequeathed by Dorothy Rose Burns, 1987
Primary Collection
NPG 5943


Click on the links below to find out more:

Sittersback to top

  • Sir Evan Charteris (1864-1940), Barrister; Chairman of Trustees of National Portrait Gallery. Sitter in 8 portraits.
  • King George V (1865-1936), Reigned 1910-36. Sitter in 373 portraits.
  • Queen Mary (1867-1953), Queen consort of King George V. Sitter in 318 portraits.

Artistback to top

  • Sir John Lavery (1856-1941), Painter. Artist associated with 16 portraits, Sitter in 15 portraits.

This portraitback to top

The Duveen wing of the National Portrait Gallery was opened by King George V and Queen Mary on 30th March 1933. The project was financed by the art dealer and benefactor Sir Joseph Duveen (1869-1939), who wished to relieve what he saw as the 'inartistic crowding' in the existing galleries. This sketch was presented to Lord Duveen by the artist Sir John Lavery as a commemorative gift, and shows the ceremony held in the Wolfson Gallery on the ground floor. The wing, designed by architects Sir Richard Allison and J.G. West, is characterised by the use of polished black Irish marble, and provided three further floors and a basement.

Linked publicationsback to top