First Previous 14 OF 14 NextLast

The Seven Bishops Committed to the Tower in 1688

14 of 14 portraits of Francis Turner

The Seven Bishops Committed to the Tower in 1688

by Robert White
line engraving, 1689
Reference Collection
NPG D1333

Click on the links below to find out more:

Artistback to top

  • Robert White (1645-1703), Engraver. Artist associated with 591 portraits, Sitter in 1 portrait.

Sittersback to top

  • Thomas Ken (1637-1711), Bishop of Bath and Wells. Sitter in 20 portraits.
  • John Lake (1624-1689), Bishop of Chichester. Sitter in 13 portraits.
  • William Lloyd (1627-1717), Bishop of Worcester. Sitter in 19 portraits.
  • William Sancroft (1617-1693), Archbishop of Canterbury. Sitter in 29 portraits.
  • Sir Jonathan Trelawny, 3rd Bt (1650-1721), Bishop of Winchester. Sitter associated with 15 portraits.
  • Francis Turner (1638?-1700), Bishop of Ely. Sitter in 14 portraits.
  • Thomas White (1628-1698), Bishop of Peterborough. Sitter in 13 portraits.

This portraitback to top

When James II began to infringe the religious monopoly of the Church of England he lost the support of many Anglican clergy. After the second Declaration of Indulgence (1688) whcih suspended the Test Act, William Sancroft, Archbishop of Canterbury, and six other bishops petitioned the the King against it; they were sent to the Tower and tried for seditious libel but were acquitted; the bishops became popular heroes and the episode was a blow to James's authority.

Related worksback to top

  • NPG D18862: The Seven Bishops committed to the Tower in 1688 (from same plate)

Linked publicationsback to top