The Awards

The winner of the competition will receive £15,000. In addition the judges, at their discretion, will award cash prizes to one or more shortlisted photographers.

This year’s competition is judged by:

Nicholas Cullinan (Chair and Director, National Portrait Gallery)
David Campany (Writer, Curator and Artist)
Tim Eyles, Managing Partner, Taylor Wessing LLP
Sabina Jaskot-Gill (Associate Curator, Photographs, National Portrait Gallery)
Fiona Shields (Head of Photography, Guardian)
Gillian Wearing (Artist)

The prize winners and exhibition selection is judged on an equal and anonymous basis. Judges are provided with procedures relating to the process, the judging and conflicts of interest.

All selected photographers under the age of 35 will also be eligible for the John Kobal New Work Award. The winning photographer will receive £5,000 and a commission from the Gallery to photograph a sitter connected with the UK film industry.

In 2016 the exhibition featured over fifty selected works and was seen by over 185,000 people at the National Portrait Gallery.

All selected works will appear in the exhibition catalogue. Previous catalogues can be purchased from the Gallery shop.

The Taylor Wessing Photographic Portrait Prize 2017 ceremony will take place on Tuesday 14 November 2017.

Thembinkosi Fanwell Ngwenya 2016 from the series Similar Uniforms: We Refuse to Compare by Claudio Rasano, February 2016 © Claudio Rasano Taylor Wessing Photographic Portrait Prize 2016 first prize winner