The Gallery holds the most extensive collection of portraits in the world. Search over 215,000 works, 150,000 of which are illustrated from the 16th Century to the present day.

The Board of Trustees

The Board of Trustees determines policy and, together with the Director and senior Gallery staff, sets the strategic direction for the National Portrait Gallery. It represents the Gallery externally and oversees its management, with the Trustees acting as guardians of the public interest.

The Board decides on acquisitions for the Primary Collection and major resource allocations. It monitors the Gallery’s performance and ensures the stewardship of public funds.

The National Portrait Gallery Board of Trustees has sixteen members. Two of the Trustees, the President of the Royal Academy and the Lord President of the Council and Leader of the House of Commons, are ex-officio Trustees and the remaining fourteen are appointed by the Prime Minister following an open public appointment process overseen by the Commissioner of Public Appointments. The Chair of the National Portrait Gallery Company, currently Christopher Townsend OBE, attends Board meetings as an independent co-opted Trustee.

National Portrait Gallery Trustees serve in a voluntary capacity and are unremunerated. They are usually appointed for four years and may be reappointed for a further term.

In line with the Museums and Galleries Act 1992, the Board chooses a Chair from among its own number.

David Ross, Chair of Trustees

Entrepreneur; Founder of the David Ross Education Trust

Dr Brian Allen

Chairman, Hazlitt, Gooden & Fox

Roger Blundell FCA

Finance Director, Grosvenor Britain & Ireland

Rob Dickins CBE

Music and arts consultant

Dr Joanna Kennedy OBE

Civil engineer and project manager

Marcus Harling

Partner, Burges Salmon LLP

Sir Michael Hintze

Founder, chief executive and senior investment officer of CQS

Christopher Le Brun PRA (Ex officio)

Painter and printmaker; President of the Royal Academy of Arts

The Rt Hon Jacob Rees-Mogg MP

Leader of the House of Commons; Lord President of the Council

Dr Andrew Roberts

Historian and biographer

Bjorn Saven

Chairman of IK Investment Partners Limited

Sir Peter Stothard

Author and former Editor of The Times and The Times Literary Supplement

Christopher Townsend OBE (Co-opted)

Commercial Director, Chelsea Football Club

Rachel Wang

Founder and Director of Chocolate Films

Professor Shearer West

Vice-Chancellor and President of the University of Nottingham

Jonathan Yeo


A Register of Interests is kept up to date for each Trustee so that any potential conflicts of interest can be identified and managed. The Register of Trustees' interests is open to the public and may be consulted by contacting the Head of Governance ([email protected]).

Board of trustees minutes