Search the Collection
25 People in sitter grouping:

Founders of the Royal Institution of Great Britain

Founded in 1779 by the leading scientists of the day, the Royal Institution of Great Britain was established for the advancement of scientific research and discovery and for 'the application of science to the common purposes of life'. In the same year, George Finch, 8th Earl of Winchilsea was elected the institution's first president to advocate the sciences and new technologies to the general public. 21 Albemarle Street was acquired in 1799 to provide laboratories, lecture theatres and living quarters. In 1810, it became a public institution through an Act of Parliament and today, anyone is eligible for membership, with no academic or annual subscription required. In 1825, Michael Faraday delivered the first series of Christmas lectures, aimed at introducing science to 'a juvenile auditory'. These series of lectures with demonstrations would became a distinctive and enduring feature of the institution.

Sydney Smith

Wit and Canon of St Paul's
Sitter in 9 portraits

George John Spencer, 2nd Earl Spencer

First Lord of the Admiralty
Sitter associated with 31 portraits

Samuel Wesley

Composer and organist; nephew of John Wesley
Sitter in 2 portraits

George Finch, 9th Earl of Winchilsea

Cricket patron and promoter and first president of the Royal Institution
Sitter in 1 portrait

Thomas Young

Physician, physicist and Egyptologist
Sitter associated with 7 portraits