Search the Collection

Anti-Corn Law League

31 People in sitter grouping:

The Anti-Corn Law League was established in response to the British Corn laws, first imposed in 1804, which raised the price of importing bread and grain, favouring the rich landlords, and landed gentry. Initially, in 1838, there were many local branches, whose members were drawn from the industrial middle classes, but in March 1839, Richard Cobden unified these to become the Anti-Corn Law League. After several periods of economic depression and the Irish potato famine, the matter was brought to a head, and in 1846, Prime Minister Sir Robert Peel was forced to pass a new Corn Law setting a new low duty rate on the import of oats, wheat and barley. With abolition achieved, the league dissolved.

John Bright

Statesman and orator
Sitter associated with 95 portraits

Henry Ashworth

Founder of Anti-Corn Law League; friend of Cobden
Sitter in 1 portrait

Walter Bagehot

Economist and journalist
Sitter in 1 portrait

Sir Edward Baines

Journalist, educationist and politician; MP for Leeds
Sitter in 5 portraits

Sir Thomas Bazley, 1st Bt

Cotton manufacturer and Liberal politician; MP for Manchester
Sitter in 3 portraits

Sir John Bowring

Political economist, traveller and the 4th Governor of Hong Kong
Sitter in 18 portraits

Sir William Brown, 1st Bt

Merchant and politician
Sitter in 1 portrait

James Silk Buckingham

Writer and traveller
Sitter in 4 portraits

Richard Cobden

Politician; MP for several constituencies, manufacturer and free trade campaigner
Sitter in 50 portraits

Samuel Courtauld

Industrialist and patron of the arts
Sitter in 3 portraits

John Passmore Edwards

Newspaper editor and philanthropist
Sitter in 2 portraits

Ebenezer Elliott

Called the 'Corn Law Rhymer', poet and bar-iron merchant
Sitter in 1 portrait

William Johnson Fox

Religious and political orator, journalist and Liberal politician; MP for Oldham
Sitter in 1 portrait

Thomas Milner Gibson

Politician; President of the Board of Trade
Sitter in 13 portraits

Joseph Hume

Doctor and politician; MP for Aberdeen Burghs, Middlesex and Montrose Burghs
Sitter associated with 74 portraits

Henry Hunt

Radical politician and demagogue; MP for Preston
Sitter in 16 portraits

Daniel O'Connell

Irish politician; MP for Dublin City and Cork County
Sitter associated with 217 portraits

Francis Place

Political and social reformer
Sitter in 1 portrait

Thomas Bayley Potter

Politician; MP for Rochdale
Sitter in 3 portraits

William Pleydell-Bouverie, 3rd Earl of Radnor

Whig politician; MP for Downtown and Salisbury
Sitter in 4 portraits