Photographs by Ramsey & Muspratt, circa 1930-51
Lettice Ramsey and Helen Muspratt opened their first joint studio in Cambridge above a row of shops in 1932. Ramsey brought her connections to Muspratt's know-how to create a style of relaxed but perceptive portraiture that gained popularity with Cambridge's leading pre-war intellectual and literary figures. In 1937 Muspratt married and expanded the studio to Oxford, whilst Ramsey remained in Cambridge and continued to run the original studio until the 1970s. The Gallery holds many works donated by Ramsey's daughter in 1988.