- Extended catalogue entry
Regency Portraits Catalogue
by Joseph Anton Couriguer
3 3/4 in. (95 mm) diameter
Inscriptionback to top
Signed on truncation: Couriguer and with an old ink-written label on reverse: John Nash/East Cowes Castle.
This portraitback to top
Nash left the whole of his estate to his widow; his castle at East Cowes, and his library and pictures were sold. Mrs Nash lived with Ann Pennethorne (a remote relation who had for long acted as her companion and who was a sister of Sir James Pennethorne, the architect) at Hamstead, Isle of Wight, till her death in 1851. The Couriguer medallion descended in the Pennethorne family until 1935. A second version, in white wax, belonging to Miss Amy Pennethorne of Brighton, was broken in 1952 and repaired with the advice of a former Keeper of the V&A Museum, H. Clifford Smith, who described it as 'this brilliantly modelled little medallion' (Country Life, 9 January 1953, p 101).
Physical descriptionback to top
Head and shoulders profile to left.
Provenanceback to top
John Nash; his widow Mary Anne Nash (d. 1851); Miss Ann Pennethorne (d. 1883); her niece Miss Rose Pennethorne (d. 1923) and her nephew Colonel G. Pennethorne (d. 1933); bought from his widow 1935.
This extended catalogue entry is from the out-of-print National Portrait Gallery collection catalogue: Richard Walker, Regency Portraits, National Portrait Gallery, 1985, and is as published then. For the most up-to-date details on individual Collection works, we recommend reading the information provided in the Search the Collection results on this website in parallel with this text.
View all known portraits for John Nash
Make a donation
Support our Make History appeal and help us transform the Gallery.
A unique range of books, accessories and gifts. Every purchase supports the Gallery’s work.
Bring a familiar face home
Refresh your home gallery with a huge selection of custom art prints .