Detail: Ronald Firbank by Bertram Park, 1917
© Estate of Bertram Park/Camera Press London

NPG logo


Alan Hollinghurst is the author of four novels that explore gay experience over the past century: The Swimming-Pool Library (1988), which won a Somerset Maugham Award, The Folding Star (1994), which won the James Tait Black Memorial Prize (for fiction), The Spell (1998) and The Line of Beauty (2004), which won the Man Booker Prize.

Hollinghurst's selection includes:


'He is celebrated as a master of high camp, but he was also a radical technician and radical homosexualiser of the novel.'

Alan Hollinghurst