Visitors' Choice

Each year the BP Portrait Award Visitors’ Choice offers exhibition visitors the opportunity to vote for their favourite portrait in the show. This year a record 30,824 votes were cast between 20 June and 1 September using the two screens outside the exhibition.

The overall winner was Kholiswa by Lionel Smit which received 2, 344 votes.

In second place was Self-portrait by Daniela Astone (2,094 votes) and the third was Self-portrait by Ian Cumberland (1,851 votes) who was also voted third in 2012. All portraits were voted for at least once.

See the winning portraits here

Everyone who voted also had the opportunity to enter a prize draw to win an exclusive Artist Oil Set worth £345, courtesy of Cass Art