The Awards

The prize winners for the BP Portrait Award 2013 will be announced at an Awards Ceremony on Tuesday 18 June 2013.

First Prize: A cash award of £30,000, plus, at the judges’ discretion, a commission worth £5,000, to be agreed between the National Portrait Gallery and the artist.

Second Prize: £10,000

BP Young Artist Award: £7,000
All selected artists aged between 18 and 30 are automatically considered for both the BP Young Artist Award and the BP Portrait Award, but an individual cannot win both.

BP Travel Award 2013: £6,000
All selected artists are invited to apply for the BP Travel Award which will be displayed as part of the BP Portrait Award 2014 exhibition.

The competition was judged from original paintings by this year’s panel:

Sandy Nairne, Director, National Portrait Gallery (Chair)
David Dawson, Painter and Photographer
Sarah Howgate, Contemporary Curator, National Portrait Gallery
Victoria Pomery, Director, Turner Contemporary
Ali Smith, Author
Des Violaris, Director, UK Arts & Culture, BP

    by Aleah Chapin, 2011
    BP Portrait Award 2012 winner
    © Aleah Chapin