Prize Winners

FIRST PRIZE: Claudio Rasano

Thembinkosi Fanwell Ngwenya 2016 from the series Similar Uniforms: We Refuse to Compare by Claudio Rasano,…

SECOND PRIZE: Joni Sternbach

16.02.20 #1 Thea+Maxwell from the series Surfland by Joni Sternbach, February 2016
© Joni Sternbach

THIRD PRIZE: Kovi Konowiecki

Shimi Beitar Illit (left)Tilly and Itty Beitar Illit (right) from the series Bei Mir Bistu Shein, by…

John Kobal New Work Award

Frances by Josh Redman, February 2016
© Josh Redman
John Kobal New Work Award: £5,000 …

The competition was judged on an equal and anonymous basis from original prints by:

Nicholas Cullinan, Director, National Portrait Gallery (Chair)
Philip Prodger, Head of Photographs Collection, National Portrait Gallery 
Carole Sandrin, Curator, Musée de l'Elysée, Lausanne
Christiane Monarchi, Editor, Photomonitor 
Nadav Kander, Photographer 
Tim Eyles, Managing Partner, Taylor Wessing

The Taylor Wessing Photographic Portrait Prize 2016 ceremony took place on Tuesday 15 November 2016.

Technical Details

Many of the selected photographers in this year’s exhibition have supplied the technical details of their portraits.

Download the technical details of all entries here