Search the Collection
Sir John Charles Robinson (1824-1913), Etcher; museum curator, Art collector and connoisseur
Sitter in 4 portraits
Robinson trained as a painter in Paris. He returned to England in 1847 and taught at the School of Design in Hanley, Staffordshire. In 1852, he was appointed Curator of the Museum of Ornamental Art at Marlborough House. The collection moved in 1857 to become part of the newly established South Kensington (now the Victoria and Albert) Museum. Robinson built up the museum's collection, notably that of Italian Renaissance sculpture. In the 1860s, he travelled to Spain and Portugal, acquiring many works of art. In 1856, Robinson organised a collectors' club that held receptions and exhibitions. Known as the Fine Arts Club, in 1866 it merged with the Burlington Fine Arts Club, with Robinson as the first president.
after Henry Jamyn Brooks
photograph, 1919 or after